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The Revenue Department assessed privilege license tax against

John D. Woodham ("Taxpayer"), d/b/a Woodham's Cabinet Shop, for the

period October 1991 through September 1994.  The Taxpayer appealed

to the Administrative Law Division and a hearing was conducted on

February 2, 1995.  The Taxpayer represented himself at the hearing.

 Assistant counsel Wade Hope represented the Department. 

The issue in this case is whether the Taxpayer was liable

during the years in question for the contractor's license levied at

Code of Ala. 1975, §40-12-84. 

The Taxpayer is in the cabinet business and contracted to

build and install cabinets during the years in question.  The

Taxpayer operated primarily as a sub-contractor, but also on

occasion contracted directly with the property owner.  The Taxpayer

both built and installed the cabinets approximately 50% - 75% of

the time. 

During the years in issue, the Taxpayer obtained the

"manufacturer's" license levied at Code of Ala. 1975, §40-12-177.

 The Taxpayer had been informed by the Houston County Probate Judge



that he was not liable for any other licenses. 

The Department determined that the Taxpayer was also liable

for the contractor's license levied at §40-12-84.  That annual

license is based on gross contracts and  runs from a minimum of $10

for gross contracts between $5,000 and $10,000, up to $250 if total

contracts are over $200,000. 

The Department reviewed the Taxpayer's sales journal and

determined that the Taxpayer had in access of $200,000 in total

contracts in each year.  The maximum license was accordingly

assessed by the Department, plus interest.  The 15% delinquent

penalty was waived because the Taxpayer had been erroneously

informed by a Department employee that the §84 license was not due.

 The Taxpayer argues that he should not be required to buy the

contractor's license because the prime contractors with which he

subcontracted were already licensed.  The Taxpayer contends that he

is not liable because "the license fee for what we supply and

sometimes install has already been paid by the (prime) contractor

to cover any building materials to be used on or in any building or

structure of a building".

I understand the Taxpayer's argument.  However, the

contractor's license is an individual privilege license and must be

obtained by every contractor engaged in  business in Alabama.  The

license covers the contractor, not the materials used in a

contract.  A sub-contractor is not relieved of liability because
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the prime contractor with which he deals already has a contractor's

license. 

Pate v. State, 8 So.2d 516 (Ala. 1942) is directly on point.

 The taxpayer in that case was a sub-contractor that contracted

with two prime contractors to install plumbing.  Both prime

contractors had the contractor's license.  The taxpayer argued, as

does the Taxpayer in this case, that because the prime contractors

were licensed he should not also be required to be licensed.  The

Alabama Supreme Court rejected the taxpayer's argument and held

that the statute "requires a license for each business conducted".

 Pate , at page 518. 

The Department concedes that if the Taxpayer had broken down

his contracts between material and labor or installation, the

contractor's license would have been based only on the labor or

installation amounts.  Unfortunately, the Taxpayer could not

separate the materials from the installation.  Consequently, the

license was based on total contracts accepted in each year. 

I must add that I disagree with the Department's position that

the contractor's license should be computed on installation or

labor only.  Rather, the statute requires that the license must be

based on the "gross amount of all orders or contracts accepted",

which would include both materials and labor or installation. 

Although the Taxpayer had been informed that no additional

licenses were owed, the §84 license is clearly due.  Accordingly,
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the final assessment in issue must be affirmed.  I agree, however,

that the penalty levied at §40-12-10(e) was properly waived by the

Department.  That penalty should also be waived for the subsequent

fiscal year 1994 - 1995. 

The above considered, judgment is hereby entered against the

Taxpayer for privilege license tax in the amount of $1,284.65. 

This Final Order may be appealed to circuit court within 30 days

pursuant to Code of Ala. 1975, §40-2A-9(g).

 Entered on February 23, 1995. 

BILL THOMPSON
Chief Administrative Law Judge


