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 OPINION AND PRELIMINARY ORDER 

The Revenue Department assessed David Marsh Walter (“Taxpayer”), d/b/a Walter 

Marine/Reefmaker, for privilege license tax for the fiscal years ending September 30, 2004 

and September 30, 2005.  The Taxpayer appealed to the Administrative Law Division 

pursuant to Code of Ala. 1975, §40-2A-7(b)(5)a.  A hearing was conducted on October 12, 

2006.  The Taxpayer attended the hearing.  Assistant Counsel Duncan Crow represented 

the Department. 

The Taxpayer has been in the artificial reef business since the mid-1980’s.  He 

began manufacturing artificial reefs in 2002 at his business located on the Intercoastal 

Waterway in Gulf Shores, Alabama.  He uses concrete, rebar, and old tires to make the 

reefs.  He then transports the reefs to locations in the Gulf of Mexico in a vessel he 

purchased in 1996. 

Baldwin County audited the Taxpayer’s business for sales tax in 2004.  During the 

audit, the County examiner noted that the business had failed to obtain the 

“manufacturer’s” license levied at Code of Ala. 1975, §40-12-87.  That license ranges from 

a $10 State license if the manufacturer’s total investment in its plant, equipment, fixtures, 

and supplies is less than $15,000, up to a $200 State license if the investment exceeds $1 
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million.  A corresponding county license is also due equal to half of the applicable State 

license.  Code of Ala. 1975, §40-12-2(e). 

The Baldwin County License Inspector’s Office investigated and subsequently billed 

the Taxpayer for the maximum $300 annual license amount based on documents obtained 

during the County’s sales tax audit of the Taxpayer’s business.  The documents relied on 

by the License Inspector were entitled “Assets Solely Owned,” and had been prepared by 

the Taxpayer for purposes of obtaining a loan from a bank.  The documents indicated that 

in 2002 and 2003, the Taxpayer and his wife had assets with a net value of approximately 

$1.3 - $1.4 million.  The Taxpayer subsequently provided the License Inspector’s Office 

with additional information.  Based thereon, the Inspector reduced the combined State and 

County license tax to $225 a year, plus penalties and interest. 

The License Inspector’s Office submitted the matter to the Department for 

assessment.  The Department subsequently deleted the fiscal year ending September 30, 

2003 because it was outside of the statute of limitations for assessing tax.  It then entered 

the final assessment for the two years in issue for the $225 annual license tax, plus 

penalties and interest.1

The Taxpayer objects on three grounds.  He first argues that his business is not 

subject to the §40-12-87 license because it is licensed and regulated by the Alabama 

Department of Conservation and Natural Resources.  He next contends that the Baldwin 

County License Inspector violated the Alabama Taxpayer Bill of Rights by auditing him 

twice.  He also claims the License Inspector violated Code of Ala. 1975, §40-12-10(b) 

 
1 The Department also allowed the Taxpayer a $15 credit for the fiscal year ending 
September 30, 2005 for tax previously paid for that year. 
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because it failed to record the Taxpayer’s license citation with the Baldwin County Probate 

Judge.  Finally, the Taxpayer asserts that the business was not assessed at the correct 

rate because his investment in the business was less than determined by the Department. 

Concerning the Taxpayer’s first argument, the Taxpayer cites the following sentence 

in §40-12-87 – “The license taxes levied under this section shall not apply where the 

factory, mill, or plant which would be licensed by this section is covered by a specific 

license under this article.”   The Taxpayer claims that the term “article,” as used in §40-12-

87, refers to Alabama law in general.  He thus argues that the §40-12-87 manufacturer’s 

license does not apply to his business because the business is regulated by the 

Conservation Department.  I disagree. 

The “article” referred to in §40-12-87 is Article 2, Chapter 12, Title 40, Code of 

Alabama 1975.  The Taxpayer’s business is not subject to another specific license in that 

Article.  The §40-12-87 license thus applies.  It is irrelevant for purposes of the §40-12-87 

license that the business is also regulated and/or licensed by the Department of 

Conservation. 

The Taxpayer next contends that Baldwin County violated the Taxpayer Bill of 

Rights, Code of Ala. 1975, §40-2A-1, et seq., because it audited his records twice.  That is, 

the County audited his records for sales tax purposes, and then used some of the records 

obtained in the sale tax audit to assess the license tax in issue. 

Code of Ala. 1975, §40-2A-13(b) provides that “no more than one examination of a 

taxpayer’s books and records by each respective taxing entity relating to each type of tax 



 
 

4

                    

shall be made every three taxable years, . . .”2  The County did audit the Taxpayer’s 

records for sales tax purposes and then use some of those records to determine his license 

tax liability.  But that clearly did not violate the above quoted statute because two types of 

taxes were involved.  Only a reaudit of a taxpayer’s records for the same type of tax within 

a three year period is prohibited.  In any case, a taxing entity is allowed by §40-2A-13(b) to 

reaudit a taxpayer for the same tax within three years as long as the entity “notifies the 

taxpayer in writing that an additional examination is necessary,” and the reasons why. 

The Taxpayer also argues that the County violated Code of Ala. 1975, §40-12-10(b) 

because it did not file a copy of the license citation with the Baldwin County Probate Judge. 

 The filing of a license citation with the probate judge is required by §40-12-10(b), but no 

evidence was submitted at the October 12 hearing indicating whether the County did or did 

not file a copy of the Taxpayer’s citation with the Baldwin County Probate Judge’s Office.  

In any case, even if the County did not file a copy with the Probate Judge, the Taxpayer 

would still not be relieved of liability for the license tax in issue.  The §40-12-10(b) filing 

requirement is a due process measure that is intended to ensure that a delinquent taxpayer 

is properly notified that he must appear and show cause why the license tax has not been 

paid.  It is undisputed in this case that the Taxpayer was notified of the citation and allowed 

due process, up to and including the October 12 hearing before the Administrative Law 

Division. 

The Taxpayer finally argues that if his business is subject to the license, the 

Department did not assess him for the correct amount.  He contends that the “Assets 

Solely Owned” documents relied on by the County License Inspector do not accurately 

 
TP

2 See also, Code of Ala. 1975, §40-2A-7(2)j. 
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show the investment in his reef manufacturing business.  He asserts that the amounts 

listed in the documents are only estimates of the current value of the various assets owned 

by he and his wife.  He contends that many of the assets are not used in his reef making 

business, and thus should not be considered. 

The Taxpayer testified that he uses the following items to manufacture his reefs:  a 

crane, two welding machines, a cutting torch, two used front-end loaders, and various other 

miscellaneous tools and supplies.  He claims that his investment in the above items is less 

than $15,000, and consequently, that he is only liable for the minimum $10 State and $5 

County license in each year. 

The County License Inspector determined the Taxpayer’s investment in the business 

to be $958,300.  See, Dept. Ex. 6.  Specifically, she used the Assets Solely Owned 

documents to determine that the value of the Taxpayer’s vessel was $350,000, that the 

intangible value of his business was $250,000, that the value of real estate used in the 

business was $127,000, that he had vehicles, trailers, etc. valued at $79,100, and that he 

owned equipment and supplies valued at $152,200.  See again, Dept. Ex. 6.   

To determine the correct license amount owed by the Taxpayer in each year, it is 

only necessary to determine if the Taxpayer’s vessel, the intangible value of his business, 

and the real estate owned by the Taxpayer should be considered an investment in the 

business for purposes of the license. 

The Taxpayer purchased his vessel in 1996 for $5,000.  He later spent $180,000 

refurbishing and repairing it.  He claims that the depreciated value of the vessel in the 

subject years was less than $18,000, not the $350,000 amount used by the County.  He 

further claims that the value of the vessel should not be considered in any case because it 
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is not directly used in his reef-making business.   

A tax levy statute must be strictly construed against the Department.  City of Arab v. 

Cherokee Elec. Co-op., 673 So.2d 751 (Ala. 1995).  Consequently, §40-12-87 must be 

strictly construed so that only the investment in the plant, equipment, supplies, and fixtures 

used directly in a manufacturing facility should be considered in determining the amount of 

license tax due.  The Taxpayer’s vessel is used to haul the reefs after they are 

manufactured, but it is not used in the manufacturing process.  The Taxpayer’s investment 

in the vessel thus should not be considered in computing the §40-12-87 license.  In any 

case, the evidence shows that the depreciated value of the vessel is considerably less than 

$350,000. 

For purposes of obtaining a loan from a bank, the Taxpayer estimated the intangible 

value of his reef-making business, including the related patents, to be $500,000.  Based 

thereon, the License Inspector determined that the Taxpayer’s investment in the business, 

excluding the patents, was $250,000.  The Taxpayer argues that the $250,000 should not 

be considered in determining his license liability because it is an arbitrary amount that does 

not represent an actual investment in the business. 

I agree with the Taxpayer on this point.  The estimated intangible value of the 

Taxpayer’s business should not be considered an investment in tangible assets for 

purposes of the §40-12-87 license.  The $250,000 was thus erroneously included as an 

investment in computing the license amount. 

Concerning the real estate, the Taxpayer testified that he and his wife bought three 

lots on the Intercoastal Waterway in 2002.  He operated his reef-making business on the 

property during the years in issue.  He contends that the property should not be considered 
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an investment in the business because it is personally owned by he and his wife.  He also 

argues that his wife has rented the property to the business, and that rented property 

cannot be considered as an investment for purposes of the license. 

The Taxpayer used the three lots in his reef-making business.  They thus should be 

considered an investment in the business in computing the amount of the §40-12-87 

license.  The Taxpayer testified that he purchased the lots because he needed a place to 

operate his business.  He responded to questions at the October 12 hearing, as follows: 

Q. Okay.  And you did this reef manufacturing on all three lots or one of 
the lots or what. 
 
A. All three lots, yes, sir. 
 
Q. What did you buy the lots for. 
 
A. I think it was – I can’t remember.  I think we paid $195,000 for all three 
lots.  I think.  I may be wrong about that. 
 
Q. Are these residential lots? 
 
A. It was zoned industrial. 
 
Q. Industrial? 
 
A. Yes, sir. 
 
Q. Why did y’all buy them to begin with; to continue operating your 
business? 
 
A. Yeah, to be able to operate our business. 
 

T. at 56 – 57. 

 The Taxpayer claims that his wife rented the property to the business, and that 

rented property should not be considered for purposes of the §40-12-87 license.  However, 

no rental agreement was submitted into evidence.  In any case, the Taxpayer operated as 
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a sole proprietorship in the subject years.  He could not rent the property to himself, and 

thereby avoid or reduce the license tax that is otherwise due.  Substance over form must 

govern in tax matters.  Sizemore v. Franco Dist. Co., Inc., 594 So.2d 143 (Ala. Civ. App. 

1991).   

 The License Inspector valued the three lots at $127,000.  The Taxpayer testified that 

he bought the property for $195,000.  It is irrelevant, however, which value is used because 

after the $350,000 value of the vessel and the $250,000 intangible value of the business 

are deleted, the investment in the business is between $100,000 and $500,000.  Pursuant 

to §40-12-87, the Taxpayer is thus liable for a $100 State license and a $50 County license 

in each year, plus applicable penalty and interest. 

 The Department is directed to recompute the Taxpayer’s liability as indicated above. 

 An appropriate Final Order will then be entered. 

This Opinion and Preliminary Order is not an appealable Order.  The Final Order, 

when entered, may be appealed to circuit court within 30 days pursuant to Code of Ala. 

1975, §40-2A-9(g). 

Entered March 22, 2007. 

_________________________________ 
BILL THOMPSON 
Chief Administrative Law Judge 
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