JACKIE W. & SHIRLEY J. HODGES
149 County Road 455
Killen, AL 35645,

STATE OF ALABAMA
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
ADMINISTRATIVE LAW DIVISION
Taxpayers, DOCKET NO. INC. 01-308

V.

w W W W W

STATE OF ALABAMA
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE.

FINAL ORDER DENYING DEPARTMENT’S
APPLICATION FOR REHEARING

The Taxpayers’ home and its contents were completely destroyed in a fire in
September 1997. The Taxpayers claimed a casualty loss of $177,514 relating to the fire on
their 1997 Alabama return, which resulted in a net loss of $149,302. The Taxpayers
consequently claimed a refund of $1,268 in Alabama tax they had paid through withholding
in the year.

The Department audited the Taxpayers’ 1997 return and requested records
substantiating the casualty loss. The Taxpayers’ were unable to provide such records
because they were burned in the fire. The Department consequently allowed the
Taxpayers a house basis of only $26,900 based on a mortgage they took out on the house
in 1989. That amount was reduced by $14,883 in mortgage insurance received by the
Taxpayers, which reduced the basis to $12,017. The Department also estimated the value
of the Taxpayers’ furniture, clothing, and other house contents destroyed in the fire to be
$10,000. Based on the above adjustments, the Department disallowed the refund claimed
by the Taxpayers, and instead assessed them for additional tax and interest of $566.68.

The Taxpayers appealed.
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A hearing was conducted on October 16, 2001. The Taxpayers testified at the
hearing that they paid $30,000 for the house in 1984. They made extensive repairs,
improvements, and additions to the house in both the 1980’s and 1990’s. They also
testified concerning the estimated value of the furniture, clothes, and other personal items
destroyed in the fire. A summary of the testimony is set out in the January 17, 2002
Preliminary Order entered in the case.

A Final Order was entered on March 6, 2003 dismissing the final assessment in
issue. In substance, the Taxpayers were allowed an additional loss (approximately $9,000)
sufficient to offset the $453 in additional tax assessed by the Department. The balance of
the claimed loss was disallowed. Consequently, the $1,268 refund claimed by the
Taxpayers was disallowed.

The Department has applied for a rehearing, arguing that the final assessment
should be affirmed because the Taxpayers failed to provide records substantiating the loss.

| disagree.

In hundreds of prior cases, the Administrative Law Division affirmed the
Department’s disallowance of a deduction or deductions because the subject taxpayers
failed to provide adequate records or other substantiation. Thornton v. State of Alabama,
Inc. 03-122 (Admin. Law Div. 3/18/03); Brewer v. State of Alabama, Inc. 01-498 (Admin.
Law Div. 9/23/02); Sanders v. State of Alabama, Inc. 02-412 (Admin. Law Div. 8/21/02);
Daniels v. State of Alabama, Inc. 01-641 (Admin. Law Div. 6/25/02); Davis v. State of
Alabama, Inc. 02-173 (Admin. Law Div. 5/24/02); Taylor v. State of Alabama, Inc. 01-596
(Admin. Law Div. 12/11/01); Bailey v. State of Alabama, Inc. 01-224 (Admin. Law Div.

5/30/01); Lacey v. State of Alabama, Inc. 01-239 (Admin. Law Div. 5/22/01); Johnson v.
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State of Alabama, Inc. 01-278 (Admin. Law Div. 8/31/01); Draper v. State of Alabama, Inc.
00-544 (Admin. Law Div. 3/29/01), to cite only a few. However, a reasonable deduction can
be allowed in certain circumstances in the absence of exact records.

In Alexander v. State of Alabama, Inc. 02-145 (Admin. Law Div. O.P.0O. 5/23/02), the
issue was whether the taxpayer should be allowed a casualty loss after a fire destroyed her
house. As in this case, the taxpayer’s records were destroyed in the fire. The taxpayer
testified concerning the cost and value of the home and its contents at the administrative
hearing in the case. The Administrative Law Division ruled as follows:

Alabama law allows a nonbusiness casualty loss to the same extent allowed
by federal law at 26 U.S.C. §165(c)(3). See, Code of Ala. 1975, §40-18-
15(a)(6). In such cases, federal case law and authority should control in
interpreting the Alabama statute. State Dept. of Revenue v. Acker, 636
So0.2d 470 (Ala.Civ.App. 1994).

The allowable amount of a nonbusiness casualty loss is the difference
between the fair market value of the property immediately before the casualty
and its value immediately after the casualty, not to exceed the taxpayer’s
adjusted basis in the property. As with all deductions, taxpayers are
generally required to establish by adequate records that they are entitled to a
casualty loss. However, if a taxpayer’s records are destroyed by fire, storm,
or otherwise through no fault of the taxpayer, the taxpayer may reasonably
reconstruct such records. Hentgesv. C.I.R., T.C. Memo 1998-244 (U.S. Tax
Court 1998). Further, the rule established in Cohan v. Commissioner, 39
F.2d 540 (2nd Cir. 1930) is that if a taxpayer is entitled to a deduction, but is
unable to prove the exact amount of the deduction, the taxpayer may
reconstruct the amount using reasonable evidence.

In Blass v. C.ILR., T.C. Memo 1977-254 (U.S. Tax Court 1977), the taxpayer
claimed a $35,000 casualty loss when his house was destroyed by fire. The
taxpayer had no records showing his cost basis in the structure. The IRS
allowed the taxpayer a $5,000 loss. The Tax Court weighed the evidence
and increased the amount to $12,000.

Petitioner testified that he incurred $35,000 of out-of-pocket
costs in the construction of his self-built four room, one story,
frame brick-veneer twelve hundred square feet house with no



4-

basement. The house was constructed in or around 1964.
Petitioner presented no specific evidence of the cost of any of
the materials and components. He testified that the house had
“‘ebony” shingles and oak floors. He submitted a photograph of
the house under construction just before the brick veneer was
constructed. On the record, we are unable to accept his
entirely unsubstantiated testimony that the materials for the
house cost him $35,000. The house was relatively small, with
ordinary construction, and we believe that $35,000 is a grossly
inflated estimate of cost. On the other hand, we consider the
$5,000 cost determined by respondent (also unsupported by
evidence) to be unrealistically low. Under the circumstances,
and on a very unsatisfactory record, we believe it appropriate
to apply the rule of Cohan v. Commissioner, 39 F.2d 540 (2d
Cir. 1930). Weighing the facts against petitioner, who had the
burden of proof, we are convinced the materials, components
and appliances which went into the house cost not less than
$10 per square foot, or $12,000, and we find $12,000 to have
been the basis for the house and the amount of the casualty
loss.

Blass, T.C. Memo 1977-254.
Alexander at 4-6.

As in Alexander, the Tax Court’s rationale in Blass also applies in this case. While
the entire $177,000 loss claimed by the Taxpayers cannot be allowed, the $26,900 house
basis and the $10,000 contents basis allowed by the Department is unrealistically low.

The Taxpayers claim they purchased the house for $30,000 in 1984. They then
spent approximately $40,000 remodeling and improving the house in the 1980’s and
1990’s. They testified extensively concerning what repairs and additions were made, who
performed the work, how much the work cost, etc. They also testified concerning a painting
previously valued by a Birmingham appraiser at $30,000, an antique family statute, old
baseball cards, a $10,000 cherry bedroom suite, and other personal items destroyed in the

fire.
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The Taxpayers appear to be honest individuals. Their sworn testimony at the
October 16, 2001 hearing was believable. If taken at face value, the Taxpayers’ testimony
clearly established a loss sufficient to entitle them to a refund of the $1,268 paid through
withholding in 1997. Unfortunately, the Taxpayers were unable to support their testimony
with receipts and other records. But at the least, the Taxpayers have established and
should be allowed an increased basis of approximately $9,000 in the house and contents
sufficient to offset the additional tax of $453 assessed by the Department.! Consequently,
the Final Order voiding the final assessment in issue is affirmed. The Department’s
application for rehearing is denied.

This Final Order Denying Department’s Application for Rehearing may be appealed
to circuit court within 30 days pursuant to Code of Ala. 1975, §40-2A-9(g).

Entered May 2, 2003.

'The Department examiner’s reluctance to allow the Taxpayers an additional basis in
the house and contents is understandable due to the lack of records. But the examiner did
not have the benefit of the Taxpayers’ sworn testimony in making her decision.



